Hintz on One-Year Anniversary of Insurrection Print
Written by Gordon Hintz Press, Rep. 54th Assembly District   
Thursday, 06 January 2022 11:33

trump-insurgentsGoal of those who attacked the U.S. Capitol continued by Wisconsin Republicans today, says Representative from Oshkosh.

MADISON – Rep. Gordon Hintz (D-Oshkosh) released the following statement on the one-year anniversary of the January 6, 2021 insurrection in Washington, D.C.:

gordon_hintz“One year ago today, after demanding then-Vice President Mike Pence refuse to certify the 2020 presidential election results, insurrectionists stormed our nation’s Capitol in a violent attempt to stop a lawful transition of power.”

Former President Trump and his advisors encouraged then-Vice President Pence to delay certifying the 2020 presidential election results until state legislatures certified a new set of electors for Mr. Trump. In fact, fifteen Wisconsin lawmakers* asked then-Vice President Pence to put off certifying the presidential results by letter one day before the January 6 insurrection, using the same argument as those storming the U.S. Capitol. They sought a 10-day delay in an effort to get state legislatures in battleground states like Wisconsin to overturn the election results and deliver President Donald Trump a second term.

“One year later, Republican elected officials and candidates in Wisconsin are trying to change state law to enact the policy version of the insurrection. Republicans in Wisconsin are wasting taxpayer money to reinforce ‘the Big Lie’ to justify giving themselves the power to overturn election outcomes they don’t like. This is the same shared goal of those who attacked our U.S. Capitol one year ago today. The idea that politicians should be able to throw out people’s votes when they don’t like the results of an election is dangerous and un-American.”

*The fifteen legislators who signed the letter were: Rep. Janel Brandtjen (R-Menomonee Falls)  Rep. Rob Brooks (R-Saukville)  Rep. Rick Gundrum (R-Slinger) Rep. Cody Horlacher (R-Mukwonago)  Rep. Dan Knodl (R-Germantown)  Rep. Gae Magnafici (R-Dresser) Rep. Dave Murphy (R-Greenville)  Rep. Jeff Mursau (R-Crivitz)  Rep. Timothy Ramthun (R-Campbellsport) Rep. Joe Sanfelippo (R-New Berlin)  Rep. Michael Schraa (R-Oshkosh)  Rep. Shae Sortwell (R-Two Rivers) Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-Fond du Lac)  Rep. Chuck Wichgers (R-Muskego)  Sen. André Jacque (R-DePere).