Saturday March 2, 2024

An Independent Progressive Media Outlet

News Feeds:
Shilling Honored by Senate Democratic Leadership Role PDF Print E-mail
Elections, Elected Officials, Political Parties
Written by GBP Staff   
Wednesday, 23 November 2016 09:28

jennifer-shillingWe need to hold Republicans accountable says Shilling. Other leaders for the 2017-18 legislative session include Janet Bewley, Mark Miller, and Janis Ringhand.

MADISON, WI – Wisconsin Senate Democrats gathered on Tuesday and elected a new slate of leaders for the 2017-18 legislative session. To lead the slate, Sen. Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) was unanimously re-elected Senate Democratic Leader.

janet-bewleyIn addition to electing Sen. Shilling, the following senators were unanimously elected to Democratic leadership posts: Assistant Leader Sen. Janet Bewley (D-Delta), Caucus Chair Sen. Mark Miller (D-Monona) and Caucus Vice-Chair Sen. Janis Ringhand (D-Evansville).

“I am honored that my colleagues have once again entrusted me with the responsibility of serving as Senate Democratic Leader," said Shilling. "While Republican gerrymandering and national factors have limited our progress, we also have to re-evaluate our efforts and do a better job connecting with voters across Wisconsin who are anxious about our stagnant economy, upset with the growing income inequality and concerned about the future of our state. Today begins a new chapter."

“I am excited to work with all of my colleagues in the Senate and continue serving as a strong voice for the values and ideals of Wisconsin’s hardworking families," Shilling continued. "Now more than ever, we need to hold Republican leaders accountable and fight for quality schools, safe roads and strong communities. From childcare assistance and student loan debt relief to affordable health care and retirement security, Democrats will continue to push for solutions to grow our middle class, encourage innovation and expand economic opportunities.”

Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 November 2016 09:56
Tweet With Us:


Copyright © 2024. Green Bay Progressive. Designed by