http://newiprogressive.com/images/stories/S5/oneida-nation-s5.jpg



Agreements recognize the importance of government-to-government collaboration with Wisconsin's eleven federally recognized Native Nations

ONEIDA — Gov. Tony Evers, together with several members of his cabinet, joined Tribal chairs and presidents from several of Wisconsin's eleven federally recognized Native Nations to sign agreements relating to consultation between the state of Wisconsin and Native Nations.

The agreements underscore the importance of respectful and cooperative communication in government-to-government relations with Native Nations. The agreements also stress the importance of collaboration to help improve the planning and delivery of state services to Tribal governments, Tribal communities, and Tribal citizens while recognizing Native Nations' sovereignty and promoting the inclusion of Native Nations and Tribal perspectives in the work of state agencies.



"Signing these agreements today is only the start of our work. The real work comes in the months and years ahead, in living up to these expectations we have set, in growing and

Tribal Consultation Agreements Signed in Oneida

Written by GOV Press Wisconsin Friday, 10 December 2021 10:08

developing these relationships, and in updating and renewing our commitments along the way," said Gov. Evers. "There is tremendous potential for our state and for our Tribal communities when we work together and collaborate to ensure the prosperity, health, and well-being of all those who call Wisconsin home, and I look forward to continuing to foster these government-to-government relations with the sovereign Native Nations in Wisconsin."

In 2004, Gov. Jim Doyle signed Executive Order #39, recognizing the government-to-government relationship between the state of Wisconsin and the federally recognized Native Nations located within the state of Wisconsin. Gov. Evers reaffirmed that executive order, recognized that Native Nations have sovereign authority, and renewed the state's commitment to work collaboratively in partnership with the Native Nations with Executive Order #18 in April 2019. The agreements signed today build on that work.

An example of the agreements signed by 17 cabinet agencies, respectively, is available here, excluding the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, which has existing Partnership Agreements negotiated under federal law.

Wisconsin is home to eleven federally-recognized Native Nations and one federally unrecognized nation, including Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians, Forest County Potawatomi Community, Ho-Chunk Nation, Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians, Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin, Oneida Nation of Wisconsin, Red Cliff Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians, Sokaogon Chippewa Community Mole Lake Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, St. Croix Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin, Stockbridge-Munsee Band of Mohican Indians, and Brothertown Indian Nation.